And after close to three decades, my mother held my hand and forced me to attend a church service, The Bishop was in town. And not just in Town in her Church, She felt that it was the right opportunity for me to finally go to church, after years of being a prodigal daughter.. of the church not her.

By forcing, it was more of a conditional agreement, I needed some information from her that I could only get if I attended just one service, just one. And what providence that the one was with the Bishop. I can’t really go into details about the importance of Bishop, I am not that conversant with the hierarchy, however, I am sure that the Bishop really holds the top level.

The Bishop talked about God being a father. What a paradox? I had stopped going to church because of that reference. I have argued with fellow christians about the title. But none of them really understood my point of view.

My mother was raised without a father, she tried her best and in my early childhood, for two years, memories I no longer possess other than photos, my father was around and until he decided to adios and I was then raised without a father. I look at my daughter, I really tried too, I thought the man was going to be the father I never experienced, because he was raised in a nuclear family with a present Dad, so automatically,he will want to do that. He denied my pregnancy at embryo level.Now my daughter is six, being raised without a father.

How can I call God a father? I have no idea how a father should be?

How do I perceive God to be without the father title.I looked at my mother, looked at my daughter, then took a deep sigh. It was time to go back to the father, and find our father in the holy scripture. After all A father should be present.

3 responses to “Did you say father?? | A short story by Likha Ayuma.”

  1. fantasic 👌

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How can we look for something that was never in our possession in the first place?

    This was such a beautiful piece,love every bit of it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for taking your time to read it ☺️

      Like

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started